Confirmation of Message Deletion


Question


How do I use the Confirmation of Message Deletion feature?

Cause


Expired messages are currently deleted automatically after a number of days defined by a Unified Messaging administrator. Unified Messaging can now be optionally configured so that users are informed of any expired messages when they log on using the Web Interface or the Telephone User Interface. They then have the option of listening to these messages before the messages are deleted permanently. The Confirmation of Message Deletion feature is available for the following Subscriber Types:
0 – Standard
1 – Business, Local, and Remote
2 – Business, Local
3 – Residential
5 – Corporate
6 – Home
7 – Small Business
8 – Enterprise

Answer


Subscriber Web User Interface
After you log on as a subscriber to Unified Messaging using the Web User Interface, the following screen is displayed if you have any expired messages, and Confirmation of Message Deletion has been enabled by the Unified Messaging administrator:


To listen to a message:


  • Click on a subject link. A message contents page for that message is displayed:
  • Click on the voice message attachment to play the message.
  • To close the window, click Delete and Return. A confirmation message is displayed:
  • Click OK to return to the Expired Messages page.

The expired messages are deleted whether or not you choose to listen to the messages. If you select the delete checkbox for an expired message in the list, the message is effectively deleted immediately. If you do not select the delete checkbox for all expired message in the list and click the Inbox page, the following message is displayed:

Clicking OK redirects you to the Inbox page. Any expired messages not already marked for deletion are deleted when you log off.

Telephone User Interface
After you log on as a subscriber to Unified Messaging using the Telephone User Interface, the following prompt is played if you have any expired messages, and Confirmation of Message Deletion has been enabled by the Unified Messaging administrator:
”You have messages that have expired. To listen to these messages
before they are deleted permanently, Press 1. Otherwise press 2.“

If you press 2, the expired messages are deleted permanently and you are returned to the main menu.
If you press 1, the message is played as normal but cannot be interrupted. A further prompt is played:
    ”To listen to the message Press 1. To delete the message, press 3. To hear when the message was sent press 8.“

If you press 1, the message is replayed as normal but cannot be interrupted.
If you press 3, the message is deleted permanently and a ”Message deleted“ confirmation prompt is played.
If you press 8, the time that the message was sent is played.

The above prompt sequence is repeated until there are no more expired messages to be deleted.

Administration
Current behavior (Confirmation of Message Deletion disabled) is the default. A Unified Messaging administrator can enable Confirmation of Message Deletion for a user by one of the following methods:

  • XML Provisioning — specify a value > 0 < 1000 for the listen_and_del_days attribute of the AddSubscriber or ChangeSubscriber XML messages. Messages expire and Confirmation of Message Deletion is enabled when messages are more than the specified number of days old.


  • changeuser command — specify a value > 0 < 1000 for the listen_and_del_days parameter. Messages expire and Confirmation of Message Deletion is enabled when messages are more than the specified number of days old. For example to enable Confirmation of Message Deletion for a user with profile ID 1234 when messages are more than 10 days old, and make such messages expire, run the following command:
        changeuser -e 1234 –u listen_and_del_days –v 10


The mailbox value maxmsgln is used to store the value of the listen_and_del_days parameter setting in the database.

To support Confirmation of Message Deletion, there is also an additional INI file entry in the [GlobalVariables] section: ListenAndDeleteDays.

ListenAndDeleteDays is the number of days after which new or saved messages are automatically expired, after which subscribers will be asked to listen and delete expired messages. The value is held by system variable SV294.

The ini file entry is overridden by the changeuser command.

Details of the new prompts required by the Confirmation of Message Deletion feature are shown in the following table:


Prompt
Number
Prompt DescriptionPrompt Text

9400

Main expired message menuYou have messages that have expired. To listen to these messages before they are deleted permanently, Press 1. Otherwise press 2.

9401

Timeout waiting for input or incorrect inputYou have messages that have expired and must be deleted. You may choose to listen to these messages one last time before they are deleted, or to simply delete them without listening. To listen to these messages before they are deleted permanently, Press 1. Otherwise press 2.

9402

Key pressed during headerYou have pressed an incorrect key during the header

9403

Listen options menu for expired messagesTo listen to the message press 1. To delete the message, press 3. To hear when the message was sent press 8.

9404

Expert listen options menu for expired messagesListen 1. Delete 3. Date and time 8.

9405

Deletion of message not yet listened to is prohibitedYou can't delete a new message until listened to. To listen to these messages, Press 1.

9406

All expired messages have been deletedAll expired messages have been deleted

9407

Error processing expired messagesUnable to complete the check for expired messages